Are All Types Of Rice Gluten-Free?

Are All Types Of Rice Gluten-Free?

In this guide, you will get a list of all the types of rice that are gluten-free, which will then be an answer to the above question, “Are all types of rice gluten-free?”

But the short and straightforward answer to the question “Are all types of rice gluten-free?” is yes; all types of rice are gluten-free.

Are All Types Of Rice Gluten-Free

It is a fact that it is common to link gluten with all types of carby foods, and rice is no exception.

Even so, don’t worry, as this guide is for you if you are on a gluten-free diet, as you will learn that rice is naturally gluten-free.

But if your rice is not prepared with any rye, wheat, or barley-based ingredients, then you are free to add this grain to any dish.

However, I will strongly suggest that you double-check the packaging for appropriate labels before you buy just any rice product.

Rice is simply a grain that is gotten from the Oryza sativa grass and is grown throughout the world.

These grains are available in several sizes and colors that are determined by where they are grown.

Presently, you will find both domesticated and wild rice varieties, which in turn add to the long list of types of rice.

Rice can be cooked, made into alcohol, or turned into flour or milk.

It has a rather plain taste, but it can also take on the flavors of any seasoning added.

A lot of people enjoy rice as a side dish, but it can certainly be used as a main dish. Plus, it is regarded as a staple flour in gluten-free recipes.

Types of Rice

As previously mentioned, there are thousands of types of rice with an extensive variety of colors, stickiness, sizes, aromas, and flavors.

However, mostly, rice is separated into five categories:

Long Grain

This grain is four times longer than it is wide. When cooked, its grains separate and become fluffy.

Short Grain

In this case, when cooked, this grain becomes sticky, and it is twice as long as it is wide.

Medium Grain

When it comes to this grain, it becomes soft and semi-sticky when cooked, and it is a shorter and wider grain.


This is rice that has been milled and polished. In order to have only the white, starchy endosperm left, the bran layers have been removed. Refined rice is commonly referred to as white rice.

Whole Grain

This is rice that has not been milled and polished. You will find the grain to be intact and to have bran, endosperm, and germ. Whole-grain rice is commonly referred to as brown rice.

There are several individual varieties of rice that are also categorized under these, like Texmati, Jasmine, and Basmati.

All of them are gluten-free, but in general, whole-grain rice is heartier. The bran layers are rich in the following:

  • B vitamins
  • Minerals
  • Fiber
  • Phytochemicals

The rice loses most of its nutrients when the bran layers are removed.

Normally, these nutrients are added back to the rice, which is then tagged as “fortified” or “enriched,” but the truth is that only a small portion of the original nutrients are replaced.

Is Rice Gluten-Free?

According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, rice is a gluten-free grain and safe for consumption, but only if it is served plain or in its natural form.

And, that goes for all rice types like basmati or brown. As previously stated, rice comes in several different colors and forms.

Whole-grain and brown rice are great sources of fiber, and fiber is a nutrient that helps balance digestion and keeps you feeling full.

Furthermore, rice is one of the most easily digested grains, which makes it a great option for people who are on a gluten-free diet.

Types of Gluten-Free Rice

  • Black rice
  • Sprouted rice
  • White rice
  • Basmati rice
  • Red rice
  • Jasmine rice
  • Sushi rice (not from a restaurant)
  • Brown rice

Remember that the plain and simple rice that you get from the grocery store is safe for your consumption, however, that does not mean that all rice products or dishes are safe to eat.

You always need to be careful of possible cross-contamination, and this goes for all processed or prepared foods.

When foods come into contact with or touch gluten ingredients, either through preparation or manufacturing, which is when cross-contamination happens.

For example, rice stored in the same container or area as a gluten-containing grain can be contaminated, which will then make it unsafe for people who have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Which Brands of Rice Are Gluten-Free?

Just in case the ingredients, packing facility, or formulation change, it is always smart and better to check the labels.

That being said, below are the brands that are among the most popular gluten-free rice brands:

  • RiceSelect
  • Ben’s Original
  • Bob’s Red Mill
  • Plant Rice
  • NOW Foods
  • Reese
  • Thousand Lakes
  • Zatarain’s
  • Seeds of Change
  • Lundberg Family Farms
  • Minnesota Grown
  • Nishiki

Which Types of Rice Aren’t Gluten-Free?

May have gluten:

  • Rice from a manufacturer of products containing gluten
  • Rice labeled as “wheat-free”
  • Rice mixes

To keep your diet gluten-free, I strongly suggest that you avoid rice mixes.

A lot of common rice mix brands contain other wheat-based grains, like pasta.

You should also take note of manufacturers that manufacture products with and without gluten.

It is very possible that products labeled as gluten-free might be contaminated by equipment used for both gluten and gluten-free foods.

Also, remember that products marketed as wheat-free are not necessarily gluten-free.

In addition, ensure that you check the labels of all foods you plan to eat in order to avoid consuming gluten.

Just don’t risk eating food that might be contaminated if you are sensitive to any contact with foods containing gluten.

My Final Thoughts

In general, rice is a gluten-free food. Just ensure that you check the labels of any rice you buy to make sure that it has not come into contact with gluten-containing products.

Also, ensure that you eat a variety of gluten-free grains and other high-fiber carbohydrates, which is to say that you should not only depend on rice in your diet.

There are also several alternative grains that are gluten-free, delectable, and filled with nutrition.

A few of these alternative grains that are also gluten-free include beans and lentils, corn, quinoa, and millet.

Now, this brings us to the end of this guide, as you now have the detailed answer to the question, “Are all types of rice gluten free?”

Leave a Reply