Do Rice Cakes Have Gluten?

Do Rice Cakes Have Gluten?

All questions regarding rice and gluten will be answered in this guide, and you will find out whether rice cakes have gluten or not, which will answer the question, “Do rice cakes have gluten?”

Do rice cakes have gluten? Which is more or less asking the question, “Are rice cakes gluten-free?

Do Rice Cakes Have Gluten

Rice cakes provide extremely little nutritional value and have a low content of fiber, calories, and protein.

The increased blood sugar that rice cakes might cause can be balanced out by eating them with an extra source of protein and fiber.

During the low-fat craze of the 1990s, rice cakes were a well-known snack; however, you might wonder whether you should still be eating them as a snack.

Rice cakes are made from puffed rice pressed together into a cake, and most times, they are eaten as a low-calorie substitute for bread and crackers.

The most basic kind is made from only rice and sometimes salt; on the other hand, you can also find flavored varieties.

You should also know that they do not have much flavor on their own. Well, let’s get right into it.

What Is A Rice Cake?

It will be wise to know and understand what rice cakes are before I go into whether they have gluten or not.

Rice cakes are a traditional food in Asia. The usual ingredients include rice, salt, and sugar.

However, there are times when beans or fruits are added to the mix.

The ingredients are pressed together into shapes, normally circles. They actually taste plain when made in a basic way.

But you can add flavor to them in the form of seasonings or additional ingredients.

Some of the common additions include cinnamon, cheese, and caramel.

Sometimes, they are served as an appetizer by themselves or can be topped with fruit, nut butter, eggs, and so on.

Rice cakes can have a crunchy texture, and they are light. You will find them prepackaged and sold in stores across the United States.

Are All Rice Cakes Gluten-Free?

Actually, commercially prepared rice can be gluten-free, but not always.

There are brands that decide to add gluten-containing grains to their rice cakes. For instance, Kamut (ancient wheat) or barley

There are rice cake additives or flavors that might not be gluten-free. For instance, several rice cakes list “natural flavors” on the ingredients panel.

And the interpretation of this is that you should proceed with caution given that the rice cakes could contain gluten in these flavorings if the product is not labeled gluten-free.

The rice cakes will not be considered gluten-free if they contain malt flavoring, bits of gluten-containing candy, or other additions.

Luckily, with all that being said, you can still find mouth-watering gluten-free rice cakes.

Potential Health Benefits of Rice Cakes

You might even want to ask if rice cakes are healthy, and the best answer to that question is that it depends.

This is due to the fact that there is a lot of variation in the composition and size of rice cakes.

In general, I strongly suggest that you avoid flavored rice cakes that contain high amounts of sodium, sugar, and other artificial ingredients.

If you also skipped those made from white rice, then that would be wise.

White rice is a refined grain stripped of vitamins, minerals, fiber, and antioxidants.

However, on the flip side, plain rice cakes are made just from puffed brown rice and provide you with some health benefits.

How to Enjoy Rice Cakes

Rice cakes have a low content of fiber, protein, and calories. Most of the calories are obtained from carbs.

Adding them with fiber and protein can balance their potential effect on your blood sugar.

You can actually purchase several different types of rice cakes; that way, they can be a bit of a well-rounded snack.

There are whole-grain varieties made with brown rice, miniature varieties that are bagged like potato chips, and thin versions.

That being said, rice cakes also come in various flavor options, including tasty flavors such as onion, cheddar, and sour cream, and sweet flavors such as caramel and chocolate.

Miniature sweet-flavored rice cakes are a lower-calorie substitute for potato chips, but I recommend you eat them with a yogurt or hummus-based dip, as this will help add some protein and fat.

You can also try pairing rice cakes with the following:

  • Tuna salad and celery
  • Tomato, basil, and mozzarella
  • Hummus and sliced cucumbers and tomatoes
  • Cream cheese, smoked salmon, and sliced cucumbers
  • Sliced turkey and tomatoes
  • White bean spread and radishes
  • Mashed avocado and an egg
  • Peanut butter and sliced bananas
  • Almond butter and sliced strawberries
  • Guacamole and sliced cheese

Frequently Asked Questions

Can You Get Gluten and Dairy-Free Rice Cakes?

Well, the short and straight answer to the above question is yes, you can get gluten- and dairy-free rice cakes.

However, keep in mind that this is based on whether the rice cakes are made with rice and no preservatives.

That being said, you will definitely find that rice cakes made only of rice are gluten-free, non-GMO, soy-free, dairy-free, and without artificial preservatives.

Are Gluten-Free Rice Cakes Healthy?

Absolutely, yes, they are healthy. Rice cakes are healthy, given that they have no spices in them.

You must make sure that you find rice cakes made with rice only to begin with a healthy choice since you want a gluten-free rice cake.

Will Eating Rice Cake Make You Gain Weight?

Well, they won’t. This is so due to the fact that rice cakes are low in calories, but they are also not the best weight-loss food as they are absorbed immediately.

They just do not contain a substantial amount of grain and might even cause weight gain.

Can You Eat Rice Cakes If You Have Celiac Disease?

If you are unaware, celiac disease is an uncontrollable digestive and immune condition that harms the small intestine.

Someone who suffers from this disease can only consume gluten-free rice cakes.

That being said, I strongly suggest that you carefully read the label on rice cakes, as some versions add Kamut (a type of wheat), barley, or other gluten-containing grains.

My Final Thoughts

It is plain and simple that rice cakes that are made only from rice are gluten-free, which means they do not contain gluten.

As previously mentioned, there are some versions that add barley or other gluten-containing grains, so if you suffer from celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, it is essential that you read the label carefully.

In addition, rice cakes can be found everywhere, so that makes them an easy gluten-free option that is just a short drive away from home.

There’s a great chance that you will be able to find rice cakes in any mainstream grocery store if you are in a place where your favorite gluten-free products are unavailable.

Now, that brings us to the wrap-up of this guide, as you now have a detailed answer to the question, “Do rice cakes have gluten?”

Leave a Reply