Does Rice Have Gluten In It?

Does Rice Have Gluten In It?

The short and straightforward answer to the above question is no. Rice does not have gluten in it, inasmuch as it is in its natural form.

Simply put, all-natural forms of rice, either brown, white, or wild, are gluten-free.

I will say that natural rice is an excellent choice for those who are allergic to or sensitive to gluten.

Does Rice Have Gluten In It

Gluten is a protein normally found in wheat, rye, and barley, and an autoimmune disease triggered by gluten for those who suffer from celiac disease.

That being said, some rice dishes might be gluten-free, given the fact that they are prepared with other ingredients that contain gluten.

Rice dishes that contain gluten might include:

  • Pre-seasoned packaged rice
  • Rice cooked with sauces
  • Rice pilaf (mostly made with orzo, which contains gluten)
  • Rice made with added seasonings or ingredients like soy sauce
  • Rice Krispies cereal (made with malt, which is gotten from barley and has gluten)

Rice can sometimes be cross-contaminated with gluten, which means it has been grown, harvested, or processed near or in the same facilities as barley, wheat, or rye.

Also, rice sold in bulk bins, like at a grocery store, might also be cross-contaminated. This is likely to happen when customers mix the spoon between bins.

A lot of sauces contain “hidden” gluten. Sauces are mostly made with flour, which acts as a thickener.

Seasonings might actually be processed around other grains and be cross-contaminated with gluten.

Is Rice Gluten-Free?

All rice in its natural form is gluten-free, so yes, rice is gluten-free. And, as previously stated, this includes white rice, wild rice, brown rice, and rice flour.

Even Asian or sticky rice that is commonly referred to as “glutinous rice” is also gluten-free, regardless of its name.

However, on this account, the “glutinous” term means the sticky nature of the rice and not the gluten protein found in barley, rye, and wheat.

As you might be aware, rice is one of the most common gluten-free grains for those with celiac disease.

A lot of gluten-free packaged goods are manufactured with rice flour rather than wheat flour.

Which Brands of Rice Are Gluten-Free?

Just in case the ingredients, formulation, or packing facility changes, it is still a great idea to check the labels.

Below are some of the brands that are among the most popular gluten-free rice brands:

  • Minnesota Grown
  • Plant Rice
  • Nishiki
  • Bob’s Red Mill
  • Lundberg Family Farms
  • RiceSelect
  • NOW Foods
  • Reese
  • Ben’s Original
  • Seeds of Change
  • Zatarain’s
  • Thousand Lakes

Is Minute Rice Gluten-Free?

Well, unless it contains any flavorings added or was packed in an environment that also deals with gluten, then yes, plain minute rice is gluten-free.

For those who don’t know what minute rice is, minute rice is simply regular white rice that is partially cooked, then dehydrated, and packed.

That way, it will take you only about five minutes to finish cooking it.

Which Types Of Rice Are Gluten-Free?

  • White rice
  • Brown rice
  • Wild rice

I’m sure by now you know that rice is gluten-free in its pure form.

You will find this whole grain to be available in different types, all of which vary in healthy benefits and nutritional content.

When it comes to following a recipe, you might actually need to use a specific type of rice.

Some types of rice are better suited for certain purposes. I suggest you go for unrefined (brown) rice if you are just choosing rice without a recipe in mind, as this will help boost the nutritional content of your meal.

Below is some nutritional information about the three popular types of gluten-free rice.

White Rice

It is no secret that white rice is a very popular type of rice; however, it has been stripped of much of its nutritional value.

To produce a smoother texture and extend the shelf life, fiber, and other vitamins and minerals are removed from white rice.

Brown Rice

This has already been mentioned: brown rice is filled with nutrition. It has selenium, fiber, and manganese.

Thanks to the fact that it is unrefined, brown rice has more texture and still has the bran and germ.

And, these are both removed when processing white rice. Just ensure that you store your uncooked brown rice in a tightly sealed container or in the refrigerator, as this helps keep it fresh.

Wild Rice

Technically, regardless of the fact that it is marketed as such, wild rice isn’t actually rice.

It is simply grass and gluten-free. Compared to rice, wild rice is more difficult to grow, so you can expect it to be more expensive. To lower the cost, it is mixed with brown or white rice.

Wild rice contains several vitamins and minerals, like folate, fiber, and vitamin B-6. It is also said to have high antioxidant content.

Which Types of Rice Aren’t Gluten-Free?

Rice That Might Have Gluten:

  1. Rice labeled as “wheat-free”
  2. Rice from a manufacturer of products containing gluten
  3. Rice mixes

If you intend to keep your diet gluten-free, then stay away from rice mixes.

A lot of common rice mix brands have other wheat-based grains, like pasta.

You should also be careful with manufacturers that create products with and without gluten.

Products that are marketed as gluten-free might be contaminated by equipment used for both gluten and gluten-free foods.

Also, remember that products labeled wheat-free are not necessarily gluten-free.

So, you should know that it is very important to check the labels of all foods you plan to eat to avoid gluten.

Don’t even risk eating food that might be contaminated if you are sensitive to any contact with foods containing gluten.

Rice Mixes to Avoid

I strongly suggest that you avoid flavored mixes from the following brands, given the fact that there’s a chance of them using gluten ingredients:

  1. Knorr Rice Sides
  2. Rice-A-Roni
  3. Uncle Ben’s flavored rice
  4. Near East Rice Pilaf (has wheat-based pasta)

When you are buying flavored rice or anything else, keep in mind to always check for gluten on the food labels to ensure that the product is safe.

My Final Take

In general, rice is a gluten-free food. Just ensure that you check the labels of any rice you buy to make sure that it has not come into contact with gluten-containing products.

Also, ensure that you eat a variety of gluten-free grains and other high-fiber carbohydrates; this is to say that you shouldn’t rely only on rice in your diet.

There are a lot of alternative grains that are gluten-free, delectable, and filled with nutrition.

Well, that being said, this concludes this guide, as you now have the detailed answer to the question, “Does rice have gluten in it?”

Leave a Reply