Is Sushi Rice Gluten Free?

Is Sushi Rice Gluten Free?

The short and straightforward answer to the question “Is sushi rice gluten-free?” is yes, sushi rice is gluten-free.

But that’s not all the answer to the question, so read on to get more details and an understanding of whether sushi rice is gluten-free or not.

Is Sushi Rice Gluten Free

It is a fact that almost all traditional sushi and sushi rolls are gluten-free, but as you know, there are some exceptions to certain ingredients that are used in sushi rolls that are not gf.

However, all sushi and sushi rolls made with raw ingredients, whether vegetable, fruit, or fish, are gluten-free.

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is the protein found in grains that provides bread and other baked goods with elasticity.

Gluten is mostly related to rye, wheat, and barley. Also, keep in mind that gluten protein can be found in all grains.

Common foods that contain gluten include baked goods, beer, and bread, as well as several sauces, marinades, and condiments.

Gluten can be extremely dangerous for people with gluten intolerance or celiac disease.

Gluten can set off an immune reaction, which will then cause inflammation in the intestines, which can then result in a host of other health issues.

Gluten-Free Ingredients and Toppings

Rice happens to be the most common ingredient in most types of sushi.

Medium- or short-grain white rice is normally used, although it can also be made from brown rice.

You use water, sugar, rice vinegar, and salt to prepare sushi rice. Normally, all these ingredients are gluten-free.

But some types of vinegar, like non-distilled or malt, do contain gluten.

So, before eating, it is very important that you double-check the ingredient list.

There are a great number of other gluten-free sushi fillings, sauces, and, most importantly, toppings.

They include:

Cooked Meats and Eggs

Eggs, beef, chicken, or pork are used in some regional varieties of sushi.

These are gluten-free, but ensure that you are careful of the sauces used to prepare them, like teriyaki, which is definitely not gluten-free.


All vegetables, like cucumber, carrot, avocado, and green onions, are naturally gluten-free.

Seaweed or Nori

This can be used as a wrap around the sushi rice.

Fish and Seafood

Raw fish is mostly thinly sliced and dressed over sushi rice or used as a filling.

You can also use cooked and smoked fish, prawns, crabs, and other seafood.

Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Only go for soy sauce or tamari that is specifically labeled as gluten-free.


It can be used in fillings. When made fresh, it should be gluten-free. However, ready-made varieties might contain gluten-containing additives.

Cream Cheese

For the filling, it is sometimes mixed with crab or other meats.


Normally, plain tofu is gluten-free, but added flavors or other ingredients might not be.

That being said, before eating, it will be wise to check the label or speak with the restaurant.

Pickled Ginger

This is a palate cleanser made using vinegar, sugar, salt, and ginger.

Masago or Tobiko

Unless prepared with regular soy sauce, the small, bright orange roe (fish eggs) used as a garnish on sushi are gluten-free. So, I strongly suggest that you check before eating.

Imitation Wasabi

As a matter of fact, most wasabi is an imitation product made from horseradish, cornstarch, mustard flour, and green food coloring.

There might be other gluten-containing ingredients added, so it is best to check the product label.


It is also commonly referred to as Japanese horseradish. It is ground to a paste, and it can be used both in sushi or just served on the side. Pure wasabi is definitely gluten-free.

What Popular Sushi Rolls Are Gluten-Free?

You have several options when it comes to gluten-free sushi rolls. Below are some of my favorites:

  • Tuna rolls
  • Vegetable rolls
  • Salmon rolls
  • Philadelphia rolls (made with cream cheese)

Does My Favorite Sushi Roll Have Gluten?

Below are sushi rolls that you should certainly avoid if you are one of the people with gluten sensitivities and celiac disease:

  • Spider rolls (made with tempura)
  • Teriyaki rolls (the sauce possibly contains wheat)
  • Tempura rolls (as well as anything listed as “crunchy” or “crispy”)
  • California rolls (normally made with imitation crab)

Tips for Making Gluten-Free Sushi

There are a lot of things you can do to ensure that your sushi is gluten-free.

Make A Swap

You can just swap gluten-containing ingredients with the ones that are safe for you.

For instance, swap imitation crab for avocado. You can also ask the restaurant to do this for you.

Call Ahead

To avoid cross-contamination with gluten, you can call the restaurant ahead of time to check if they have gluten-free options and if they follow safe food preparation practices. That’s if you are eating out.

Opt for Fresh Prepared Sushi

You can specify which ingredients you would like or which should be left out if sushi is made fresh.

So, I’d strongly suggest that you avoid store-bought sushi, as these can contain gluten-containing additives or ingredients. In addition, it can also be hard to check how it was prepared.

Keep It Simple

Compared to rolls with several ingredients and sauces, simpler sushi with just one or two fillings might be a better option, as it is much easier to see what’s in your roll.

Make Your Own Sushi Rice

You can try making your own sushi rice at home if you really want to be sure that your sushi rice is gluten-free.

Avoid Cross-Contamination

It is quite essential that gluten-free sushi be made in a clean area away from ingredients that contain gluten, like flour or breadcrumbs.

Bring Your Own Soy Sauce

You might want to bring your own to a restaurant or when you are buying ready-made sushi to ensure that your soy sauce is gluten-free.

Is A California Roll Gluten-Free?

Normally, California rolls use surimi (imitation crab), which lists wheat flour in its ingredient list.

Except if the restaurant plainly states and guarantees that they use fresh crab meat, I suggest that you avoid ordering California rolls.

Final Thoughts on “Is Sushi Rice Gluten-Free?”

As with several things, sushi rice can be safely added to your gluten-free diet, but be ready to ask the right questions and order the safest options.

Below are some things you should do when it comes to sushi:

  • Play it safe and just order sashimi.
  • As questions to ensure that cross-contamination is not a concern.
  • Stay away from marinated fish and rice.
  • As previously mentioned, you can bring your own gluten-free soy sauce alternative, such as coconut aminos.

Well, as you know, all sushi rice is traditionally considered gluten-free.

That being said, you now have the detailed answer to your question, “Is sushi rice gluten-free?”

Leave a Reply